## Vreeland and Negron climb to top step, while Reichert takes points lead.

Two more rounds in the 2018 Pacific F2000 championship season are in the record books, as drivers battle for an opportunity to win an at-large entry into the Mazda Road to Indy Shootout.



Following a wet friday test day, Saturday was the busy day of the weekend, with two qualifying sessions and race #1.

<u>Qualifying Final Results</u>		Q1	Q2
1	#11 Robert Armington	1:47.773	1:46.793
2	#19 Bob Negron	1:49.597	1:47.182
3	#51 Scott Vreeland - Masters	1:48.886	1:49.539
4	#68 Paul Rodler	No Time	1:49.656
5	#32 Jason Reichert	1:59.557	1:49.980
6	#66 Troy Tinsley	1:56.260	1:53.580
7	#99 Peter West - Masters	1:59.924	1:54.145
8	#88 Lyn Greenhill	No Time	1:55.595
9	#22 Sterling Ellsworth	2:11.880	2:00.800
10	#37 Paul MacFarlane	2:16.292	2:09.782
11	#62 Kim Wilcox	2:04.365	NO Time

The breezy Northern California day was packed full of F2000 action, with the Masters Class winner #51 Scott Vreeland coming out as the overall winner ahead of #19 Bob Negron and first time podium finisher, the teenager in the #32, Jason Reichert.



Setting the fastest time in qualifying #1, Robert Armington put the # 11 on pole, however he would not turn a lap in Race #1 and would finish Race #2 over 3 laps behind the leaders having gone off track and cut down a tire.



## <u>Race #1 Final Results</u>

1	#51 Scott Vreeland - Masters
2	#19 Bob Negron
3	#32 Jason Reichert
4	#68 Paul Rodler

5	#99 Peter West - Masters
6	#66 Troy Tinsley
7	#88 Lyn Greenhill
8	#62 Kim Wilcox
9	#22 Sterling Ellsworth
10	#37 Paul MacFarlane
DNS	#11 Robert Armington

Sunday's race was under a double yellow after only one lap, as the #62 of Kim Wilcox and the #88 of Lyn Greenhill came together in Turn One to bring out the safety car. Both drivers were unhurt, yet unable to continue and ended the race on the hook.

When the field went back to green #19 Bob Negron began his move to the front, slashing through the field, earning the SCCA Hard Charger award and eventually taking the Race #2 win and setting the fastest lap of the race. Behind Negron, Saturday's winner Scott Vreeland took the second step, as #68 Paul Rodler grabbed the final step of the podium just ahead of Reichert. The teenager was happy for a good overall weekend, "I had a great time, I'm a racer... I'll drive anything, anytime."



1	#19 Bob Negron			
2	#51 Scott Vreeland - Masters			
3	#68 Paul Rodler			
4	#32 Jason Reichert			
5	#66 Troy Tinsley			
6	#99 Peter West - Masters			
7	#22 Sterling Ellsworth			
8	#11 Robert Armington			
9	#37 Paul MacFarlane			
dnf	#62 Kim Wilcox			
dnf	#88 Lyn Greenhill			

## Race #2 Final Results

Leading the pinto powered cars, the #66 of Troy Tinsley raced his Smokin Joe's Van Diemen to fifth overall, and said, "...it was a fun day."



With Back to back winner at Rounds 1 and 2 Tim de Silva missing the event and leading the championship coming into Thunderhill, the battle for the points lead was wide open for the taking. When the dust settled at Thunderhill it was the teenager #32 Jason Reichert proving consistency is the key, taking 5th, 4th, 3rd, and 4th so far in 2018 to leave Thunderhill the Pacific F2000 championship points leader.



## Championship Points Standings Rounds 4/10

Jason Reichert	80
Robert Armington	68
Peter West (Masters)	67
Tim de Silva	66
Bob Negron	57
Scott Vreeland (Masters)	55
Tom Hope	47
Troy Tinsley (Pinto)	36
Paul Marino (Masters)	28
Sterling Ellsworth	28
Harindra de Silva	20
James Hakewill	16
Lyn Greenhill	16
Kim Wilcox	15
Paul Macfarlane	13

The Pacific F2000 Championship only has a few weeks off before the next event, April 28/29 at Buttonwillow Raceway Park.

> For more information about the Pacific F2000 Championship visit them on the web at <u>pacificf2000.com</u>

And follow the series on Facebook - @PacificF2000Racing

For more coverage of the Pacific F2000 Championship weekend, including on track action, podium celebrations, and more, visit <u>RightTurnRacing.TV</u> - Tuesday at 8pm following every Pacific F2000 event for the *Formula Car Rundown*.

